Aboriginal Lands Parliamentary Standing Committee: Aboriginal Languages in SA

On June 2nd, as the then Presiding Member, John tabled the Aboriginal Lands Parliamentary Standing Committee (ALPSC) South Australia Aboriginal Languages report in the Legislative Council. 

SA is privileged to be home to around 46 different Aboriginal languages. The report recognises and celebrates the languages and custodians of these languages, who have lived in SA for tens of thousands years.

The inquiry found that languages play a crucial role in connecting Aboriginal people to culture, kinship and country.

 The hope of the committee is that the report will lead to a better understanding of the power of Aboriginal languages to improve and develop the local community. 

ALPSC Executive Research Officer Dr Ashley Greenwood ably assisted the committee throughout the inquiry and provided support in all stages of the report.