The Hon. J.S.L. DAWKINS         (         15:48         :51         ):  Mount Gambier's The Border Watch newspaper has been named South Australia's BankSA Best Newspaper in the circulation over 6,000 category for the third year in a row. Country Press SA hosted the 2013 newspaper awards dinner at Adelaide Oval on Friday 7 March this year. The gala dinner was attended by 155 people representing newspapers from across the state as well as sponsors and guests.    

Murray Bridge's The Murray Valley Standard won the BankSA Best Newspaper circulation 2,500 to 6,000 category for a remarkable 10th year in a row. The Millicent South Eastern Times, a sister paper to The Border Watch, won the BankSA best newspaper under 2,500 circulation category for the second year in a row. Country Press SA President, David Wright, from the Northern Argus paper at Clare said:    

The awards recognised the outstanding efforts of country newspapers in serving and leading their local communities, while offering a benchmark for continued improvement and development.

He said:

Country Press SA was excited to present the inaugural SA Power Networks bright spark award to Dylan Hogarth of The Murray Valley Standard, who started as a cadet journalist with The Standard some four years ago.    

Having hosted the Country Press SA AGM here at Parliament House earlier in the day, I was delighted to present my award for best community profile to Joanne Fosdike of TheMurray Valley Standard and I am very grateful to Georgina McGuinness for once again judging my award.    

Other awards that were presented on the evening included the best advertisement which went to The Leader at Angaston, with the Yorke Peninsula Country Times in second place and The Courier at Mount Barker in third place. Best Advertisement (Priced Product) went to The Courier, with the Katherine Times in second position and the Roxby Downs Sun in third.    

Best Advertisement Feature went to the Port Lincoln Times, with The Murray Pioneer in second and The Recorder in third place. The Best Supplement was won again by The Leader at Angaston, with TheSouth Eastern Times and TheBorder Watch in second and third places respectively.    

The Best News Photograph was won by the Yorke Peninsula Country Times, with the Katherine Times and Barossa & Light Herald finishing in the placings. Best sports photograph went to the Barossa & Light Herald, with The Plains Producer second and The Islander newspaper third.    

The Best Front Page was won by The Courier at Mount Barker, with the Yorke Peninsula Country Times and Barossa and Light Herald second and third respectively. The award for Editorial Writing went to Mr Rob McLean, the editor of The Bunyip newspaper in Gawler, second was The Islander and third place went to The Murray Pioneer.    

Excellence in Journalism was won by Jenny Oldland of the Yorke Peninsula Country Times, with The Pennant at Penola and The Courier at Mount Barker second and third respectively. The Best Sports Story was won by The Courier, with The Murray Pioneer second and the Plains Producer third.    

It is also worth mentioning again the outstanding efforts of the papers that won the overall circulation awards for multiple times. It is worthwhile in the time remaining mentioning that in the over 6,000 section, with The Border Watch having such a successful run, they won that award ahead of the Yorke Peninsula Country Times in second place and The Courier in third.    

The award for the 2,500 to 6,000 section—The Murray Valley Standard, which has won that 10 times in a row and had numerous different judges in that time, won that award from The Recorder at Port Pirie and the Northern Argus and The South Eastern Times victory in the under 2,500 section was won over The River News at Waikerie and the Plains Producer.