About Parliament

The Parliament of South Australia consists of the 47-seat House of Assembly (lower house) and the 22-seat Legislative Council (upper house). John currently serves as President of the Legislative Council, the presiding officer of the upper house of Parliament. In his role as President, John acts as a representative for the Council in relations with the Crown, the House of Assembly and other authorities outside of Parliament.

The President’s primary role is to preside over debates of the Legislative Council. The President is responsible for preserving order and applying and interpreting the rules and procedures of the Chamber, based on the standing orders, precedents, rulings of past Presidents and various procedural authorities. Outside of Parliament, the President performs ceremonial duties including receiving visits from foreign delegations and representing the Council at events.

More information about the Parliament of South Australia can be found here.